Friday, December 2, 2022
HomeSportsHimachal Pradesh beat Punjab by 13 runs to enter Mushtaq Ali Trophy...

Himachal Pradesh beat Punjab by 13 runs to enter Mushtaq Ali Trophy remaining | Cricket Information

KOLKATA: A whirlwind half-century from Sumeet Verma was complemented by a three-wicket haul from Rishi Dhawan as Himachal Pradesh continued their fairytale run to enter the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy remaining with a 13-run win over Punjab on Thursday.
Despatched in to bat, Sumeet slammed three fours and as many maximums in his 25-ball 51, whereas Akash Vasisht scored 43 off 24 balls, laced with 4 hits to the fence and two sixes to steer HP to 176 for 7.

In response, Shubman Gill made a 32-ball 45 on the high whereas Anmol Preet Singh (30), Mandeep Singh (29) and Ramandeep Singh (29) tried their bit but it surely wasn’t sufficient as they have been restricted to 163-7 of their 20 overs.
Dhawan did a lot of the harm for Himachal as he produced the primary breakthrough, dismissing opener Abhishek Sharma (1), Pukhraj Mann (10) and Ramandeep.
Mayank Dagar (2/27), Kanwar Abhinay Singh (1/27) and Akash Vasisht (1/8) have been additionally amongst wickets.

Himachal, the 2021-22 Vijay Hazare Trophy winners, have been 32 for two within the powerplay however Sumeet and Akash then placed on 45 off 23 balls to take the group near the 100-mark.
As soon as Sumeet fell to Sanvir Singh within the thirteenth over, Akash took the onus on himself and added one other 47 off 27 with Pankaj Jaswal (27) to carry them to a aggressive complete.
Jaswal clobbered two fours and a six in his 16-ball cameo.
Chasing the overall, Punjab innings by no means received going.
Gill appeared strong on the high as he had seven hits to the fence and a six in his innings however as soon as he was gone, Punjab had slipped to 61 for 3 within the tenth over.
Anmolpreet tried to resurrect the chase however by the point he was again within the hut, Punjab had misplaced half their facet for 103 within the fifteenth over.
Skipper Mandeep and Ramandeep conjured up hopes of a turnaround with a 38-run stand but it surely was too little too late in the long run.
Temporary Scores:
Himachal Pradesh: 176 for 7 in 20 overs (S verma 51, A Vasisht 43; Abhishek Sharma 2/20, Sanvir Singh 2/17)
Punjab: 163 for 7 in 20 overs (Shubman Gill 45; Rishi Dhawan 3/25).

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular