Friday, March 24, 2023
HomeSportsIrani Cup: Pujara and '5 openers' in focus as Saurashtra tackle ROI...

Irani Cup: Pujara and ‘5 openers’ in focus as Saurashtra tackle ROI | Cricket Information

RAJKOT: Veteran Cheteshwar Pujara would attempt to remain related within the nationwide crew’s scheme of issues with a purposeful knock when Saurashtra clashes with Remainder of India, a aspect that’s full of 5 specialist openers, within the Irani Cup conflict beginning right here Saturday.
Whereas Madhya Pradesh are the 2021-22 Ranji Trophy champions, Saurashtra might be enjoying the Irani Trophy by advantage of being the 2019-20 champions because the one-off match wasn’t held for successive seasons as a consequence of COVID-19.
Gone are these days when the Remainder of India versus Ranji champions’ encounter was a digital nationwide crew trial sport the place a superb efficiency was a certain shot ticket in the direction of an entry into the nationwide dressing room.
An Irani Cup in 2022 is extra about being within the scheme of issues so far as reserve bench is worried and majority of the Remainder of India squad contains gamers, who’ve all featured within the latest A collection in opposition to New Zealand.
The Saurashtra crew has a battle-hardened professional in Pujara, whose Take a look at profession is on the crossroads and he would not wish to put a foot flawed earlier than the away collection in Bangladesh.
He has had a dream run for Sussex in each crimson ball and white ball (Checklist A) video games however whether or not the selectors will stick with him in Exams going ahead is one other matter.
However on his dwelling floor the place he has scored truckloads of runs, Pujara can show to be greater than a handful for the younger velocity weapons like Umran Malik, Kuldeep Sen, Arzan Nagwaswalla or the upcoming spinners specifically R Sai Kishore and Saurabh Kumar.
Nevertheless the first downside that Remainder of India face is having too many openers — all in-form of their squad of 15.
There’s India ‘A’ pair of Priyank Panchal and Abhimanyu Easwaran that did nicely in opposition to New Zealand ‘A’ whereas Yashasvi Jaiswal was in regal type within the Duleep Trophy, scoring 265 within the remaining.
Then there’s Take a look at opener Mayank Agarwal who’s making an attempt to make a comeback and younger Yash Dhull who has scored 770 runs in 5 first-class video games in his debut season.
Solely skipper Hanuma Vihari and in type Sarfaraz Khan are the 2 specialist batters aside from keeper Kona Bharat.
The Saurashtra bowling assault might be manned by Jaydev Unadkat, a professional in home cricket, who is certain to really feel quick modified on not getting a nationwide name up after 65 wickets in 2019-20 season.
There’s Chetan Sakariya who will convey the ball again into the suitable handed batters.
On a sluggish batting floor, the spinners of either side will come into play from third day onwards.
Saurashtra: Jaydev Unadkat (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Sheldon Jackson, Arpit Vasavada, Chirag Jani, Kamlesh Makwana, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Prerak Mankad, Chetan Sakariya, Snell Patel, Vishvarajsinh Jadeja, Kushang Patel, Harvik Desai, Samarth Vyas, Parth Bhut, Kishan Parmar.
Remainder of India: Hanuma Vihari (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Yash Dhull, Sarfaraaz Khan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ok.S.Bharat, Upendra Yadav, Jayant Yadav, Saurabh Kumar, R Sai Kishore, Mukesh Kumar, Umran Malik, Kuldeep Sen, Arzan Nagwaswalla.
Match begins at 9:30am.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular